5 Poles Who Won the Nobel Prize for Literature

Not many people remember that we have the rare honor of having five separate winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature. Thus we would like to remind of who they were and about their work.

The first Pole who received that prestigious award was Henryk Sienkiewicz. He mainly wrote historical novels. His most recognized book that made him famous is Quo Vadis. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1905. The second winner was Wladyslaw Reymont. He received the Noble Prize in 1925. He was best known for his award-winning novel Chlopi. The third winner was Czesław Miłosz, who won the prize in 1980. He was a poet, prose writer and a translator. Isaac Bashevis Singer was a Polish-Jewish writer. He won the Nobel Prize in 1978 and is remembered for works such as The Family Moskat. The latest Polish Nobel Laureate and the first woman was Wisława Szymborska, who received the honor in 1996 for her poetic work.

Poland can also boast a number of internationally renowned writers, such as Witold Gombrowicz, Stanisław Lem, Adam Mickiewicz, Joseph Conrad, Bolesław Prus, other prominent figures are Tadeusz Borowski or Ryszard Kapuściński.